My Experience

From taking Digital Video Foundations this semester, it has helped me change the way that I look and enjoy movies. What Jules and Josh said was right. It will change the way you view movies. I don’t hate watching films; I just look at them differently. Previously, films were just a way to pass time and a form of entertainment with friends and I never knew how intricate the processes of making a film were.

I am currently doing my second last semester at Griffith with a Bachelor of Arts majoring in Japanese and Marketing. Through starting my degree my interest in Japan grew and the opportunity arose to do a year exchange at a Japanese university. I took that offer up and travelled there last year. Soon after I arrived I got involved with doing some modelling and acting. I had formerly taken acting classes back in high school and had enjoyed making short films with friends in my spare time. As I became more involved with acting in films, TV shows and commercials I became more interested in the way everything was done from filming to editing (because what they shot during the day look so much more better in the finished product). Working on films and TV shows helped me appreciate how much work goes into lighting and especially film sets.

Although nearly to the end of my studies working as an actor opened my eyes up and ever so more whilst taking this course. The production side is so completely different to what us actors see and do. We are on set one second and off the next just performing. Digital video foundations taught me a lot about what happens behind the scenes and the countless hours that people have to spend on organising, editing etc. I remember seeing lots of lights at sets and microphones and that but never really realised how precise they have to be in order to get a good shot. And that helps explains why sometimes it takes so long to get a good shot. Because I’ve seen and done a lot of the practical on camera stuff, but never really studied the theory behind it all this subject taught me about the why, and the how of film making. I now can appreciate the production crew more and can in some circumstance understand why they do the things they do.

In all the classes and films based on visualisation, production, screenwriting, storyboarding, budget scheduling, framing & composition, lighting, editing and audio, framing and composition, lighting and editing would have to be my favourites. They taught me how to appreciate and know a good from bad shots and special ways to use audio and lighting and the effect that it can have on a film if used correctly. The editing part (not to forget all the parts integrated) I think will help me when I come to film and edit a film that I make someday.

I wish that I could carry on with more film studies because I have a passion for this kind of stuff and wish that I had done this subject much earlier than I have now. I see myself now much more alert to what’s going on in a movie and sometimes find myself a little critical of things. I see films more as a piece of artwork rather than entertainment and understand why some films flop and some are great. Great composition, acting, editing, organisation, and every other part that adds to a great film. I feel as I can connect with the director now and understand his motives around producing such a film and shooting particular scenes. Even though I will finish at Griffith soon I am sure that I will pursue film studies (or acting) either as a hobby or something more professional.

Leave a Reply

